Router

Technical / Computer related discussion board.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Weedguru Higher
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Posts: 14620
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:31 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Router

Post by Weedguru Higher » Sat Jul 24, 2010 8:53 pm

Weedguru Techies, I need your help!

I have a a desktop computer at home and now I have one for my daughter also in her room. Right now I just unplug my connection to plug hers in (we have run an ethernet cable down to her room) But I want both to connect at the same time. To do this I know I need a router. But my question is, how do you make a router secure? Like I don't want my neighbours or anyone else to use my internet connection. How do I go about doing that? Can you do that?


Image

User avatar
Gorecore
Weedguru Grampy
Weedguru Grampy
Posts: 4115
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by Gorecore » Mon Jul 26, 2010 2:01 am

Are you going wireless, Higher? Are both computers desktops? If so, you'd have to invest in wireless ethernet cards for both systems, unless you already have them installed. If you're going wired, you shouldn't have to worry about security issues, unless you're using a wireless router and running wires. When you install the router's software, you'll be given an option to password protect your wireless signal from intruders. You should be good to go after that.

Hope that helps.
Image

User avatar
Weedguru Higher
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Posts: 14620
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:31 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by Weedguru Higher » Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:26 am

Thanks Gorecore

Both computers are desktop but I don't want them to be wireless because I also have a laptop. I want the laptop to work wireless though
Image

User avatar
SpRi7e
Ganja God
Ganja God
Posts: 5208
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 5:48 am
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by SpRi7e » Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:02 pm

If your laptop is running Vista, you might also have to change a setting on your router to let it connect to it. I've had so many people complain about their vista computers not connecting to routers right. The way the wireless is set up has to be different and you have to set up a WEP password (if my memory is right) for them to connect. I think that was my first real thing that got me HATING the Vista OS. It's so fucking unnecessary
Peace Not Greed.

User avatar
Weedguru Higher
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Posts: 14620
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:31 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by Weedguru Higher » Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:00 pm

I've got XP
Image

(weedguru)scarf
Ganja God
Ganja God
Posts: 5762
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by (weedguru)scarf » Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:31 am

I think youre best bet is to have a wireless router and the usb wireless cards for the desktop computers.
It can all be protected as sprize said with a wep password.... i think in the long run this will be the best
option for you mate.
woah

User avatar
Weedguru Higher
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Posts: 14620
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:31 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by Weedguru Higher » Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:50 am

Alright thanks everyone, I understand better
Image

User avatar
Weedguru Higher
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Posts: 14620
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:31 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by Weedguru Higher » Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:16 pm

Other router question...I still haven't gotten the router..

I now have 2 desktop pc's and 1 laptop that I want to be able to use all at the same time...

What do I need to make this work? The laptop doesn't need to be wireless...Can I connect all 3 pcs to the same router all at once?

Will this work?

http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/product/ ... f880e5en02
Image

User avatar
Weedguru_RyaNayR
The Duke of Dope
The Duke of Dope
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 9:11 pm
Location: The Sky
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by Weedguru_RyaNayR » Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:28 am

That is what a router is designed to do. It routes the signal to multiple computers.

Yes, that router will work great, that's the one i've got.

User avatar
Weedguru Higher
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Posts: 14620
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:31 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by Weedguru Higher » Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:36 pm

K, thanks was just making sure
Image

User avatar
Weedguru_RyaNayR
The Duke of Dope
The Duke of Dope
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 9:11 pm
Location: The Sky
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by Weedguru_RyaNayR » Sat Oct 09, 2010 5:29 pm

btw, ummm, you know it's spelled Agriculture, not Agriculter, right?

User avatar
Weedguru Higher
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Posts: 14620
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:31 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by Weedguru Higher » Sat Oct 09, 2010 5:35 pm

I didn't make it man....

And yeah I noticed that

They made it to mean someone doing agriculture is an agriculter I thought..dunno
Image

User avatar
Weedguru_RyaNayR
The Duke of Dope
The Duke of Dope
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 9:11 pm
Location: The Sky
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by Weedguru_RyaNayR » Sat Oct 09, 2010 9:26 pm

at first i kinda figured you didn't make it and i was still gonna bring it up, but then i noticed how well it actually does fit, so i thought maybe you did make it. but i figured you would say that you didn't make it, like i was just waiting for that. :lol:

i don't think it's a description of a person as an Agriculter.... cause that should be like, Agriculturist... or farmer, or... etc ... also cause of how the rest of it is just the subject not the title of a person that does that...

but yeah, i guess i'm thinking too deeply about this... it's just a sigpic.

User avatar
Weedguru Higher
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Tetrahydrocannabinologist
Posts: 14620
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 1:31 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by Weedguru Higher » Sat Oct 09, 2010 9:41 pm

Haha yeah..

The pic was calling my name man, even with that little oddity in it...
Image

User avatar
sugarstalker
Herbal Assassin
Herbal Assassin
Posts: 978
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:38 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by sugarstalker » Sat Oct 09, 2010 9:57 pm

I'm guessing the original question was answered, but just to add, if you want to buy a wifi router and have some computers connected through wires, you should make sure you have enough ports on the router.
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users